Nightmare Tutorial

This Tutorial Covers:

What Nightmares are
    Recurring Nightmares
    Using Lucidity to Combat Nightmares
    Sorting out the Real Life reason for the Nightmare
    Using an "envelope" to get rid of a nightmare

Please Note
    I am not a doctor or a psychologist. If you still have problems with nightmares after all this, you may want to see your doctor about it.

What Nightmares Are
    Everybody in their life has had, or will have, at least one nightmare. They are absolutely normal things to have - don't think that because you've had a nightmare you might have something wrong with you. (There are cases, however, where nightmares are a cause of something happening in real life). Note that nightmares are not very different from dreams - they are dreams, except scary ones.

Wikipedia defines a nightmare as:
    "a dream of particular intensity and with content that the sleeper finds disturbing. They are usually associated with rapid-eye movement (REM) periods of sleep, and may be accompanied by physical movements."
    (full definition @ Wikipedia)

Nightmares are, while you are experiencing them, absolutely terrifying things.

There are different types of nightmare- while they are no set categories, you can have really disgusting nightmares about zombies or a serial killer, or one where you're trying to run away from something and can't run, or even a nightmare about a giant beef-burger trying to eat you (while this may not seem scary in real life, you could find that extremely scary in the middle of a nightmare!)

Nightmares usually seem very real to the person experiencing them -it's like you've been put into the middle of a horror movie, except it's real. An example would be some sort of zombie nightmare- when you watch it on TV, it's not very scary. However, when you're in a dream it seems as real as waking life, you even believe it is real, and it can make you absolutely terrified.